A Cure for Wellness

After what seems like 30 years of trailers, Gore Verbinski’s A Cure for Wellness (2017)- or as I like to call it, A Cast of Wonders- is finally in theaters. And by cast of wonders I do not mean the starring cast (Dane DeHaan, Jason Isaacs, and Mia Goth), who are all great, but the literal leg cast that Dane DeHaan’s character wears for much of the film. In saunas, in weird water chamber silos, in bar fights and bike rides! The cast does it all and is my favorite character, which is not to say I don’t like it. A  Cure for Wellness was like a fucked up Lemony Snickets and I loved it.

So, is it fun?

I think it was so fun, for the most part. There was something about the film that drew me in and kept me interested, but after a while… I don’t want to say it got stupid, because there was definitely an idea but I think the film got tired during its 2.5 hour run. Did I understand all of it? No, probably not even half of it because I’m not an eel doctor (heavy eel usage in this film). But what I do understand that it was world that was beautiful, a world that was mysterious, a world that was exciting and one I could keep watching. Just not in one 2.5 sitting.

 Side note: While I wasn’t 100% comfortable with the idea of a romantic relationship between Goth and DeHaan’s Hannah and Lockheart (she looks 12 and acts 11), I could definitely watch them go on more supernatural, platonic adventures in the Swiss Alps.
Leave a Reply

