The Mend

John Magary’s The Mend (2014) is a mumblecore movie about two brothers, one a mess and one less of one, who go through a bunch of emotions. They hate each other, they love each other. There’s jazz music and more dancing than you would think. One of them is played by Josh Easy Dent Lucas! What a name! Normally I love this the kind of slice-of-depressing-life movie, but this time, for whatever reason, no dice. Granted, I did stretch my viewing over months because I’m nothing if not timely and professional so that might have skewed my perception.

Is it fun?

Nope. I’m sorry, guys! I wanted to like it but in my truth of truths, it was boring. Also, it was a bit rough to watch people of that age living such whiny- and I imagine sweaty, for some reason- lives.

Leave a Reply

